Will Clear Data Delete Text Messages?

Will clearing data delete messages?

clearing cache will not delete text messages, but clearing data will delete your text messages, so be sure to backup your entire phone before you clear any data..

What happens when I clear data?

When the app cache is cleared, all of the mentioned data is cleared. Then, the application stores more vital information like user settings, databases, and login information as data. More drastically, when you clear the data, both cache and data are removed.

Does deleting text messages free up storage?

Delete old text message threads When you send and receive text messages, your phone automatically stores them for safe keeping. If these texts contain images or videos, they can take up a considerable amount of space. Fortunately, you do not need to go back and manually delete all your old text messages.

How long do text messages stay on your phone?

Some phone companies also keep records of sent text messages. They sit on the company’s server for anywhere from three days to three months, depending on the company’s policy. Verizon holds texts for up to five days and Virgin Mobile keeps them for 90 days.

How do I free up storage space on my Android phone?

Use Android’s “Free up space” toolGo to your phone’s settings, and select “Storage.” Among other things, you’ll see information on how much space is in use, a link to a tool called “Smart Storage” (more on that later), and a list of app categories.Tap on the blue “Free up space” button.More items…•Aug 9, 2019

Does clearing my history delete everything?

Does clearing your web browsing history delete everything? Apparently not. It only erases the list of the websites and pages you visited. There are still bits of data that remain untouched when you click “Delete my activity.”

Should I clear data on Firestick?

In most cases, clearing the cache on your Fire TV Stick will fix problems like slow speeds and app crashes. However, you may need to clear app data, clear cookies, or even reset your Fire TV Stick to its factory settings if that doesn’t do the trick.

What will happen if you clear data Photos?

To clear Data’ won’t hamper your Google Photos library or remove any images stored on that device. It will only restart the application’s settings which will necessitate you having to do everything all over again.

Why are my text messages being erased?

It’s possible that the version of the Messages app you have installed on your phone is to blame. If that’s the case, updating to the latest version of the app may solve the problem. To update the app, open up the Google Play Store on your phone and tap the My apps & games option in the side menu.

What should I delete when my phone storage is full?

Clear the cache If you need to clear up space on your phone quickly, the app cache is the first place you should look. To clear cached data from a single app, go to Settings > Applications > Application Manager and tap on the app you want to modify.

Do text messages automatically delete?

Deleting a text message on an Android phone doesn’t remove it from your phone immediately. Your phone will mark the data as inactive until new data is created, which will then eventually overwrite the deleted text.

Does clearing data delete photos?

You will not lose any of your photos, if CLEAR DATA operation is performed, it is completely safe to do so. This just means that your preferences have been reset and the cache has been cleared.

What’s the difference between clear cache and clear data?

While the cache can be cleared with little risk to app settings, preferences and saved states, clearing the app data will delete/remove these entirely. Clearing data essentially resets an app to its default state: it makes your app act like when you first downloaded and installed it.

Is it safe to delete app data?

Yes, you can because some of those old files can become corrupt. So if you delete the entire folder nothing bad will happen. All of the ones that you need, the programs will create new ones. And if you can’t delete some then a program you are running is running those temp files so just leave those alone.

Is it safe to clear data?

Clearing out cache won’t save a ton of space at once but it will add up. … These caches of data are essentially just junk files, and they can be safely deleted to free up storage space. Select the app you want, then the Storage tab and, finally the Clear Cache button to take out the trash.

Does deleting a text message delete it for the other person?

Can I Delete a Message for Everyone? … Once you send a message, it’s synced with Apple’s server and the recipient address. You can’t delete a sent message from another person’s device on either iOS or Android. If you delete the message or conversation, the other person will still have a record of it.